PROGRAMME 2 : Civilian Oversight

Mr Jasson
Director:  Civilian Oversight 
Mr D.J Jasson 

 P.A:  Mr. T Molefi

 Tel:  053 839 1767

 Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


To ensure the transformation of the SAPS by promoting accountability and transparency in the police service with the mandate outlined in Section 2 and 3 of the SAPS Act. It has been established as a designated department at national level in terms of the Civilian Secretariat for Police Service Act, 2011 (CSPS Act).

  • Exercise Civilian Oversight over the Police Service, through monitoring and evaluating of overall police performance against planned programmes.
  • Give strategic advice to the MEC in respect of developing and implementing policies.
  • Provide administrative support services to the MEC, to oversee effectiveness and efficiency of police service.
  • Liaise and communicate with stakeholders.
  • Implement a partnership strategy to mobilise role-players and stakeholders to ensure the safety and security of communities.
  • Promote good relations between police and community.
  • Coordinate the functions and powers of Civilian Secretariat national and provincial spheres of government.
  • Provide guidance to community police fora and associated structures and facilitate their proper functioning.


Section 16 of the Act compelled each MEC to constitute a provincial Secretariat for Police.

The Provincial Secretariat must:

  • Monitor and Evaluate the implementation of policing policy in the province
  • Evaluate and monitor police conduct in the province.
  • Promote community police relations
  • Establish and promote partnerships and
  • Manage the enhancement of community safety structures within the province.

It is made up of the following sub-programmes:

  • Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Policy and Research
  • Safety Promotion  
  • Community Police Relations 








Mail Us

Department of Transport, Safety & Liaison
P O Box 1368

Contact Details

Contact telephone numbers
053 839 1700
Email address: